Subregional Office


 for Eastern Africa (SFE)



FAO Sub-regional Office for Eastern Africa

SFE headquarters
FAO Office in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The FAO Sub-regional Office for Eastern Africa (SFE) is a technical hub which supports 8 countries in Eastern Africa and has a core team of professionals with multi-disciplinary expertise. It is responsible for developing, promoting, overseeing and implementing agreed strategies for addressing sub-regional food security, nutrition, agriculture and rural development priorities. The office also plays a very important liaison role to the African Union and the UN Economic Commission for Africa as well as to a large number of important development partners based in Ethiopia and the sub-region.

The FAO Conference - the Organization's supreme governing body - at its 33rd Session held Rome, 19- 26 November 2005 approved further decentralization within the framework of the reform agenda. The Government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia-FAO Agreement to establish the Sub-regional Office for Eastern Africa (SFE) in Addis Ababa was signed on 31 January 2007 and the office established in February 2007. SFE covers the following eight countries: Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan and Uganda. FAO's main objective of decentralization is to establish sub-regional centers to become more responsive in delivering service to member countries.




Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

H.E. Ato Mitiku Kassa, State Minister of Agriculture, Ministry of Agriculture FDRE, hoped that, "this high-level consultative workshop will share the key findings of the mapping exercise and stimulate action towards enhanced partnership to end hunger in Ethiopia by 2025". He tanked all agriculturalists, pastoralists and agro-pastoralists and all development partners for their collective support and commitment to ending hunger and eradicating poverty from Ethiopia.

Susan Minae as Sub regional Coordinator for Eastern Africa, FAO Representative to Ethiopia and to AU and ECA, on behalf of the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations, gave a brief background and objectives of the workshop. The first step was the adoption by the African Union Heads of States and Government Malabo in June 2014 of the Declaration on Accelerated Agricultural Growth and Transformation for Shared Prosperity and Improved Livelihoods.

The second step is the renewed Partnership for a Unified Approach to end Hunger in Africa by 2025. Following the Malabo Declaration, a High-level meeting was convened by the African Union in collaboration with the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and the Lula Institute in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia from the 30 June to 1 July 2014, to commit to ways to end hunger in Africa. There was adopted the Declaration on the Renewed Partnership for a Unified Approach to end Hunger in Africa by 2025 aimed to promote actions to eradicate hunger and malnutrition within the framework of comprehensive African Agricultural Development Programme (CAADP).

. Despite formidable challenges, Ethiopia has registered remarkable economic performance over the past eleven years. Ethiopia is one of the pilot/front line countries selected for the implementation of the Renewed Partnership to End Hunger in Africa by 2025. To take forward the agenda to end hunger, the Government of Ethiopia through the Ministry of Agriculture with support of the FAO undertook a stock-tacking exercise to review the different policies, strategies, programs and investment plans in the areas of food security, nutrition and social protection in Ethiopia in order to identify gaps and areas to strength action. A workshop was organised at Hilton Hotel Addis Ababa.


End of the Year 2014 at FAO Ethiopia


Africa Solidarity Trust Funds (AfCON 2015)

Map: Africa