Bureau Sous-Regional


 for Eastern Africa (SFE)


top image

FAO Sub-regional Office for Eastern Africa

SFE headquarters
FAO Office in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

The FAO Sub-regional Office for Eastern Africa (SFE) is a technical hub which supports 8 countries in Eastern Africa and has a core team of professionals with multi-disciplinary expertise. It is responsible for developing, promoting, overseeing and implementing agreed strategies for addressing sub-regional food security, nutrition, agriculture and rural development priorities. The office also plays a very important liaison role to the African Union and the UN Economic Commission for Africa as well as to a large number of important development partners based in Ethiopia and the sub-region.

The FAO Conference - the Organization's supreme governing body - at its 33rd Session held Rome, 19- 26 November 2005 approved further decentralization within the framework of the reform agenda. The Government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia-FAO Agreement to establish the Sub-regional Office for Eastern Africa (SFE) in Addis Ababa was signed on 31 January 2007 and the office established in February 2007.  SFE covers the following eight countries: Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, South Sudan and Uganda. FAO's main objective of decentralization is to establish sub-regional centers to become more responsive in delivering service to member countries.



SFE Newsletter

Horn of Africa Updates



 - JULY 2012

Map: Africa