Subregional Office


 for Eastern Africa (SFE)


top image
SFE headquarters

A new office for Eastern Africa

The FAO Conference - the Organization's supreme governing body - at its 33rd Session held Rome, 19- 26 November 2005 approved further decentralization within the framework of the reform agenda. The Government of the Republic of Ethiopia-FAO Agreement to establish the Sub-regional Office for Eastern Africa (SFE) in Addis Ababa was signed on 31 January 2007 and the office established in February 2007.  SFE covers the following eight countries: Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, Sudan and Uganda. FAO's main objective of decentralization is to establish sub-regional centers to become more responsive in delivering service to member countries.

Key Challenges in the Sub-Region

The major challenges in the sub-region are related to the following:

  • Small-scale subsistence production;
  • The relatively high degree of dependence on food aid;
  • Low level of agricultural production for specific commodities and policy orientation towards modernizing agriculture;
  • Natural resource degradation; and
  • Need for capacity building, particularly in post-conflict countries.

SFE Newsletter

Horn of Africa Updates



 - JULY 2012

Map: Africa