Standing Technical Committee (STC)

The Regular Sessions of the Executive Committee have the services of a Standing Technical Committee of maximum four pre-eminent experts with international experience in the management of FMD or similar highly contagious animal viral diseases, selected on the basis of individual expertise, with the objective of providing guidance to the Sessions of the Commission, to review proposed studies and their progress, and to identify issues affecting FMD management that need be brought to the Agenda of the Commission Sessions, and where appropriate, to the Member States.

Members 2017

Eoin Ryan  Chair of the STC

MVB BSc(Hons) MSc PhD | Senior Research Officer

Virology Division |Central Veterinary Research Laboratory |Backweston Campus

Celbridge | Co. Kildare |Ireland |+353 (0)1 6157149;

Ron Bergevoet

Sten Mortensen


Karin Schwabenbauer

Head of Directorate Animal Health, Animal Welfare- CVO –

Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture, Rochusstr. 1 D- 53123 Bonn;

Tel. +49 228 99 529 4176  Internet


Katharina Stärk

Stephan Zientara

Directeur adjoint du Laboratoire de santé Animale

ANSES-Deputy Head of Animal Health Laboratory-ANSES.

Directeur de l'UMR 1161 ANSES/INRA/ENVA

94700 Maisons Alfort, France

Tel : 33 1 43 96 72 80