La FAO en Amérique latine et aux Caraïbes

COPESCAALC promotes the responsible use of inland fishery resources, advises Member Nation Governments in fishery management measures and supports the development of aquaculture.

Commission on Inland Fisheries and Aquaculture for Latin America and the Caribbean (COPESCAALC)

COPESCAALC was established in 1976 to promote the responsible use of inland fishery resources, advise governments in fishery management measures and support the development of aquaculture.

COPESCAALC works in all inland waters in Latin America, Jamaica and Suriname. Inland fishing is an important component of the economies of many of the region's countries. It creates employment and income, and serves as a source of food supply. This contribution is particularly important for food security and livelyhood of the rural populations that live along major rivers and lakes.

Inland fishing in Latin America has increased over the last 50 years, but has grown at a slow rate, particularly when compared with Africa and Asia. In global terms, Latin America only accounts for 5.12 per cent of the catch worldwide. (2009, COPESCAALC)

The Commission's headquarters are located at the FAO Regional Office for Latin America and the Caribbean.

COPESCAALC was established by the FAO Council during its 70th session (1976, Resolution 4/70).

The mission of COPESCAALC is to promote sustainable planning and development of inland fisheries and aquaculture activities based on the principles and norms of the Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries.

COPESCAALC Member Countries

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Costa Rica
  • Cuba
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Jamaica
  • Mexico
  • Nicaragua
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela