Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific

China to send agricultural experts to eight Pacific island countries to support farmers in agriculture, livestock and fisheries

08 Jul 2004 -- Bangkok – China will send 36 agricultural experts and technicians specialized in agronomy, irrigation, livestock and fisheries, to eight Pacific Island nations, FAO announced today.

The initiative is part of FAO’s South-South Cooperation Programme that aims to strengthen cooperation among developing countries to improve agricultural productivity and ensure access to food for all.

This agreement, signed early this week, will benefit farmers in the Cook Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Tonga and Vanuatu.

This initiative is part of a broader programme to boost food security in the Pacific region which the Government of Italy have supported with a US$4.5 million grant.

Working together to boost food security

Four regional experts will be based in Samoa, and 32 field technicians – four for each country – will work alongside local experts over a two-year period.

The Chinese will work on projects to improve water management, increase crop and small animal production and promote aquaculture and artisanal fisheries.

China has already sent experts to Bangladesh, Ethiopia, Ghana, Mali and Mauritania under the South-South Cooperation Programme. In Nigeria, 340 Chinese experts and technicians are currently working in 36 states assisting around 23 000 rural households.

Special Programme for Food Security

The South-South Cooperation Programme is part of FAO's Special Programme for Food Security (SPFS). The SPFS aims to improve the food security situation of some of the world's poorest countries by rapidly increasing food production, improving people's access to food and reducing their vulnerability to climatic events such as drought and floods.

Today, the SPFS is operational in 100 countries.

RAP 04/26

More information at: