Committee on World Food Security

Making a difference in food security and nutrition

Bureau and Advisory Group

The Bureau is the executive arm of the CFS. It is made up of a Chairperson and twelve member countries: two each from Africa, Asia, Europe, the Near East and Latin America and one each from North America and South West Pacific. The process for the election of Bureau members can be found in the CFS Rules of Procedure.

Bureau 2019-2021


Mr. Thanawat Tiensin was elected as Chairperson of the UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS) on October 18, 2019.

As the Permanent Representative of Thailand to the UN Agencies in Rome, he has taken on other responsibilities such as Vice Chairperson of the 41st FAO Conference, Chairperson of the Asia Regional Group, Bureau member of the FAO Committee on Agriculture (COAG), Bureau member of the Commission on Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture (CGRFA), Bureau member and Rapporteur of the Plenary Assembly of Global Soil Partnership (GSP), Bureau member of the G77 & China, and Vice Chairperson and Member of the FAO Council in 2018.

Mr. Tiensin was a former Assistant Director General and Senior Expert on International Livestock Trade and Cooperation at Thailand’s Department of Livestock Development, Ministry of Agriculture and Cooperatives. He has worked for international development programmes in various technical areas such as agriculture, livestock, food security and food safety, international trade, and capacity building of veterinary service related issues with FAO, ADB, APHCA, EU, IAEA, and OIE in several countries including DPR Korea, Bangladesh, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Nepal, and Thailand.

With over 50 academic publications, he also provides lectures and technical services for various national and international universities and institutions. Mr. Tiensin has a Ph.D. in Veterinary Epidemiology and Economics from Utrecht University, The Netherlands and a Doctorate of Veterinary Medicine (D.V.M.) from Kasetsart University, Thailand.

Current Bureau Members are:

Afghanistan Argentina Australia
Bangladesh Brazil Cabo Verde
Canada Costa Rica Dominican Republic
Equatorial Guinea France India
Indonesia Iran Mali
Mauritania New Zealand Oman
Russian Federation Senegal South Korea
Spain Switzerland United States of America

Advisory Group

The Advisory Group helps the Bureau advance the Committee’s objectives in particular to ensure linkages with different stakeholders at regional, sub-regional and local levels and to ensure an ongoing, two-way exchange of information.

The Advisory group is made up of representatives from the 5 different categories of CFS Participants. These are:

  1. UN agencies and other UN bodies
  2. Civil society and non-governmental organizations particularly organizations representing smallholder family farmers, fisherfolks, herders, landless, urban poor, agricultural and food workers, women, youth, consumers and indigenous people
  3. International agricultural research institutions
  4. International and regional financial institutions such as the World Bank, the International Monetary Fund, regional development banks and the World Trade Organization
  5. Private sector associations and philanthropic foundations.

UN Bodies:


CFS Civil Society Mechanism (CSM)  represented by:

International Agricultural Research Bodies:

International Financial and Trade Institutions:

Private Sector/Philanthropic Foundations: