The AMICAF framework consists of four components.

Component 1: Assessment of Climate Change Impacts on Agriculture

The first component involves the generation of spatially downscaled climate change scenarios and a robust assessment of the impacts of climate change on agriculture using FAO's new tool called Modelling System for Agricultural Impacts of Climate Change (MOSAICC). MOSAICC is an integrated package of models for assessing the impacts of climate change on agriculture, including the variations in crop yields and their effects on national economies.

Component 2: Food Insecurity Vulnerability Analysis

Component 2 covers the assessment of current and future household vulnerability to food insecurity as a result of climate change through the development of an analytical econometrics model using best available national household datasets.

Component 3: Livelihood Adaptation to Climate Change

Component 3 involves a community-based approach to identify, test and evaluate adaptation options that increase the ability for vulnerable groups to deal with the impact of climate change on food security.

Component 4: Institutional Analysis, Awareness, and Policies

Component 4 is geared towards enhanced awareness on impacts and vulnerability, and improved institutional mechanisms to conduct and use assessments. The activities involved in this component include: institutional and policy analyses; policy simulations; knowledge management; communication, and capacity development; interactive fora; and support to institutional mechanisms and production of guidance materials.

Global Component: Guidelines for Implementation in Other Countries

The experiences and lessons learned will be summarized in global guidelines for implementation of the AMICAF framework in other countries.

last updated:  Monday, August 31, 2015