Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page

7. Views and Themes: Definitions and characteristics

In the previous chapters we have seen that Views are interactive maps to show Themes that represent real objects having a geographic location and a representative shape (like a district, a sub-district, a town).

ArcView can work with three types of data sets:

The different characteristics of data sets determine the way they can be used in GIS and set the limits of their use in different types of analyses. Therefore, they are discussed more in detail in the next chapter.

There are in principle three different types of shapefiles:

Basically, Point and Line features have no area, but are related to locations, while Polygon features always have a location and an area.

[4] Not further discussed in this manual.

Previous Page Top of Page Next Page