Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page


Acknowledgements


First of all we wish to thank the Norwegian Research Council as the main funding source; they have shown great interest in our work and have been very supportive. The fisheries authorities in Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe have provided very useful assistance by giving us access to all sorts of data and we thank them sincerely. We also wish to thank the Development Planning Service, Fisheries Policy and Planning Division of the Fisheries Department of FAO, for a close and very fruitful collaboration which has included several workshops and seminars and a six months stay as visiting scientist. We also thank the Norwegian Agency for International Development (NORAD) for financial support to the dissemination of results.

Eyolf Jul-Larsen
Project Coordinator

The authors

D. Gordon, Department of History, University of Maryland, Baltimore, USA,
(dg165@umail.umd.edu)

P.C. Goudswaard, Institute of Evolutionary and Ecological Sciences, University of Leiden,
The Netherlands, (PCGoudswaard@hetnet.nl)

M. Hara, School of governance, University of Western Cape, Cape Town, South Africa,
(mhara@uwc.ac.za)

E. Jul-Larsen, Chr. Michelsen Institute, Bergen, Norway
(Eyolf.Jul-Larsen@cmi.no)

C.K. Kapasa, Department of Fisheries, P.O. Box 350100,
Chilanga, Zambia

J. Kolding, Dept. for Fishery and Marine Biology, University of Bergen, Norway,
(Jeppe.Kolding@ifm.uib.no)

I. Malasha, Centre for Applied Social Sciences, University of Zimbabwe,
(imalasha@cass.org.zw)

B. Musando, Department of Fisheries, P.O. Box 350100,
Chilanga, Zambia

F. Njaya, Fisheries Department, Lilongwe, Malawi,
(fjnjaya@clcom.net)

R. Overå, Chr. Michelsen Institute, Bergen, Norway,
(Ragnhild.Overaa@cmi.no)

N. Songore, Lake Kariba Fisheries Research Institute, P. Bag 2075,
Kariba, Zimbabwe

H. Ticheler, Troelstraweg 65, 6702AG Wageningen,
The Netherlands

O. Weyl, Fisheries Research Unit, Fisheries Department, P.O. Box 27,
Monkey Bay, Malawi

P. A. M. van Zwieten, Dept. of Animal Sciences, Wageningen University, The Netherlands,
(Paul.vanZwieten@Alg.VenV.wag-ur.nl)

Distribution:

FAO Members
Other interested nations and national and international organizations
FAO Fisheries Department
FAO Regional and Subregional Offices

Map of study area

Map of Africa with the five study areas indicated on the left. Freshwater systems in Africa where the authors have additional research experience are indicated on the right. (Drawn by Elin Holm).


Previous Page Top of Page Next Page