Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page

Geographical scope of this review

States, entities and areas

This review covers the states, entities and areas of Asia and the Pacific region that report fisheries and aquaculture statistics to FAO, and which are within the area of competence of the Asia-Pacific Fishery Commission. They are sub-divided into the following subregions;

Oceania: American Samoa, Australia, the Cook Islands, Republic of Fiji Islands (Fiji), French Polynesia, Guam, Republic of Kiribati (Kiribati), the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia (Micronesia), Republic of Nauru (Nauru), New Caledonia, New Zealand, Republic of Niue (Niue), Norfolk Island, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (Northern Mariana Islands), Republic of Palau (Palau), Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Island, Independent State of Samoa (Samoa), Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Kingdom of Tonga (Tonga), Tuvalu, Republic of Vanuatu (Vanuatu), and Wallis and Futuna Islands.

South Asia: The People's Republic of Bangladesh (Bangladesh), the Kingdom of Bhutan (Bhutan), the Republic of India (India), the Republic of Maldives (Maldives), Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal (Nepal), Islamic Republic of Pakistan (Pakistan) and the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka (Sri Lanka).

Southeast Asia: Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia (Cambodia), the Republic of Indonesia (Indonesia), Lao People's Democratic Republic (Lao PDR), Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar (Myanmar), the Republic of the Philippines (Philippines), the Republic of Singapore (Singapore), the Kingdom of Thailand (Thailand), the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste (Timor-Leste) and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam (Viet Nam).

China: People's Republic of China (China), Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of China (Hong Kong SAR) and Taiwan Province of China (Taiwan POC).

Other Asia: Islamic Republic of Iran (Iran), Japan, the Republic of Kazakhstan (Kazakhstan), Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPR Korea), Mongolia, Republic of Korea (RO Korea), the Republic of Tajikistan (Tajikistan) and the Republic of Uzbekistan (Uzbekistan).

Production areas1

All catches made outside the subregional areas mentioned above are excluded from this review. The subregional areas cover the FAO major fishing areas (MFAs) as follows:

Inland waters: Asia — Inland waters (MFA 04)
Oceania Inland waters (MFA 06)
Marine waters: Western/Eastern Indian Ocean (MFA 51 and 57)
Northwest, Western/Eastern Central and Southwest Pacific Ocean (MFA 61, 71, 77 and 81)


Data on aquatic mammals, aquatic plants, corals, pearls, sponges and crocodiles from capture fisheries are also excluded.

1 If specifically mentioned, the data presented could also correspond to other production areas (e.g. "world production" might refer to all FAO major fishing areas).

Previous Page Top of Page Next Page