Previous PageTable of contentsNext page


This publication is based on a draft prepared by William M. Ciesla, previously with the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), Forest Service and subsequently at the Forest Department of FAO, Rome. Many people provided valuable assistance and information in the compilation of this draft, including: Francis Barney, Librarian, USDA Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Forest and Range Experiment Station, Fort Collins, Colorado, USA; Robert DeBoo, British Columbia Forest Service; Nancy Turner, University of Victoria, British Columbia, Canada; Vidar John Nordin, Ottawa, Canada; Jorge Macias, Mexico; Attilio Disperati, Universidade Federal do Paraná, Curitiba, Brazil; Jorge Urrutia, Universidad Austral, Valdivia, Chile; M.P. Shiva, Centre for Minor Forest Products, Dehra Dun, India; Gordon Hosking, New Zealand Forest Research Institute, Rotorua, New Zealand; Frederich Schlegel, Forest Education Officer, FAO, Rome; Zhou Jian Sheng and Ding Gui Yi of the Anhui Province Forest Biological Control Center, Hefei, People’s Republic of China; A. Hafeez Buzdar from Quetta, Balochistan, Pakistan; staff of the Bonsai Nursery Inc, Denver and Pat Ciesla, Fort Collins, Colorado, USA.

This draft was widely circulated within and outside FAO for peer review, and benefited from the detailed comments of: John Coppen, previously with the Natural Resources Institute, United Kingdom; Steve Wilson, International Flavours and Fragrances, Hangzhou, China; David Pilz, Pacific Northwest Research Station, USDA-FS; and: El Hadji Sene, Christian Hansen, Robert Scharpenberg, Laura Russo, Christel Palmberg-Lerche, Joachim Lorbach and Christopher Prins from FAO. Formatting of the text and proofreading was done by Inés Matyszczyk. Overall guidance and coordination for the preparation, editing and publication of the final document was provided by Paul Vantomme.

FAO sincerely thanks the International Programs Unit of the U.S. Forest Service, United States Department of Agriculture, and the European Forest Institute, for their financial support for the publication of the present document.

Previous PageTop of pageNext page