IPC Map of DR Congo - December 2014/June 2015

Dec 2014

Worsening of the food insecurity situation in Ituri (Province Orientale) and in Boende (Equateur); persistence of the Emergency Phase in Punia (Maniema), Shabunda (South-Kivu), Manono, Mitwaba and Pweto (Katanga)

The analysis of the 12th IPC cycle conducted in DR Congo covered the entire rural areas of the national territory. The work performed by the technical groups showed that:

  • 7 territories are in Emergency (Phase 4) in the provinces of Katanga (Manono, Mitwaba and Pweto), of Maniema (Punia), of South Kivu (Shabunda), of the Province Orientale (Irumu), and of Equateur (Boende);
  • 61 territories are entirely or partially in Crisis (Phase 3);
  • 65 territories are under pressure and stressed (Phase 2);
  • 12 territories have not been classified due to insufficient proof.

With the exception of Boende Territory, where the Emergency Phase is a consequence of the Ebola outbreak, the other localities are classified in Phase 4 due to the armed conflicts and associated violence, which have induced important population movements and have greatly affected the population’s livelihoods.

In total, the number of people facing an acute food security crisis (Phases 3 and 4) is estimated at 6.5 million people in the areas that were classified under Crisis. This represents an overall reduction of 0.5 million people comparatively to the preceding IPC cycles, but with an increase by about 523,000 people for those under Emergency.

Author: IPC DRC