Typhoon Haiyan Philippines - Executive brief 17 December 2014

Typhoon Haiyan Philippines - Executive brief 17 December 2014
Dec 2014


  • FAO is providing assistance in four critical areas of intervention, in support of over 157 600 families in the Philippines:
    1. Rice and corn farming – FAO has supported some 103 100 rice and corn farmers since December 2013. Livelihoods were restored rapidly, with big returns. This included, the distribution of certified rice seed by FAO to more 44 500 farming households in time for the December/January planting season, which resulted in an improved rice yield to: ensure food security; generate vital income; and save seed for the next planting season.
    2. Fisheries and coastal communities – FAO is providing some 19 000 small-scale fishers with livelihood inputs, technical guidance and trainings on aquaculture, post-harvest processing, marine protected areas management and hybrid boats.
    3. Coconut-based farming systems – FAO is helping 32 500 small-scale coconut farmers build alternative livelihoods and is providing 3 000 upland farmers with seedlings and training to rehabilitate agroforestry systems.
    4. Coastal/mangrove forest rehabilitation – FAO is promoting the natural regeneration of coastal ecosystems and the recovery and protection of related livelihoods by distributing seeds and planting materials.
  • Resilience building is a key part of FAO’s ongoing interventions, complementing efforts to meet the urgent needs of farmers whose seed stocks were lost or damaged by the Typhoon Haiyan, while enhancing farmers and government capacities and apply approached to avoid or limit the adverse affects of future hazards.
  • FAO has mobilized over USD 39.7 million – more than 100 percent of the funds appealed for under the Typhoon Haiyan Strategic Response Plan. Contributors include: Central Emergency Response Fund, European Commission Directorate-General for Humanitarian Aid and Civil Protection, FAO and the Governments of Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.