Employment at FAO

List of Non and Under-Represented Countries

FAO©/Rocco Rorandelli

Calculation of geographic representation within FAO is based on three criteria:

  • Membership to FAO;
  • Member country population;
  • Member country contribution to the FAO budget.

FAO encourages applications from qualified nationals of non- and under- represented member countries as well as qualified women.

Non-represented Countries: member countries with no nationals currently working for FAO on a professional post under the Regular Programme budget. 

The following countries are non-represented under the FAO Regular Programme as at 1 February 2021:

Bahamas, Cook Islands, Estonia, Fiji, Grenada, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia (Federal States of), Nauru, Niue, Palau, Qatar.

Under-represented Countries: member countries with less than the established minimum number of nationals currently working for FAO under the Regular Programme budget.

The following countries are under-represented under the FAO Regular Programme as at 1 February 2021:

China, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, Republic of Korea, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United States of America.