Home > Employment > Who we are > Organization Overview

Organization Overview

©FAO/Giulio Napolitano

FAO is an intergovernmental organization with 194 Member Nations, two associate members and one member organization, the European Union.

Besides its headquarters in Rome, FAO is present in over 130 countries. The decentralized network includes 5 regional offices, 10 sub regional offices, 2 multidisciplinary teams, 74 fully fledged country offices (excluding those hosted in regional and sub-regional offices), 8 offices with technical officers/FAO Representatives, and 38 countries covered through multiple accreditation. In addition, the Organization maintains five liaison offices and four information offices in developed countries.

FAO employs more than 1795 professional staff (including Associate Professional Officers and National Professional Officers) and over 1654 support staff. Figures only refer to staff holding fixed term and continuing appointments. Approximately 58 percent are based at headquarters in Rome, while the remainder work in offices worlwide. During the last 15 years, the proportion of women in the professional category has nearly doubled, from 19 percent to 37 percent.

FAO is composed of seven departments: Agriculture and Consumer Protection; Economic and Social Development; Fisheries and Aquaculture; Forestry; Corporate Services, Human Resources and Finance; Natural Resources Management and Environment; and Technical Cooperation.

FAO in the field
FAO programmes have two main funding sources: assessed contributions funded by FAO Member Nations, and voluntary contributions received from multilateral and bilateral resource partners, including IFIs, other UN system Organizations, Funds and Programmes. Government cooperative programs provide the largest amount of project funding for the 2500+ projects implemented each year.  For more details including specific project information and a breakdown of funding, please click here.

For a brief history of FAO, please click here.