Southern African Development Community (SADC)

The countries of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) have been the subject of growing interest from investors wanting to develop bioenergy projects. Several governments of SADC member countries have already drawn up plans to encourage bioenergy development at the national level. As SADC countries become more economically integrated there is an expectation that biofuels and bioenergy could become regionally traded energy commodities. In response to these developments and in light of the common desire of SADC countries to ensure that bioenergy development at the regional level will be sustainable, SADC adopted a Framework for Sustainable Biofuels in December 2009. The Framework addresses a broad range of environmental, social and economic sustainability issues, and aims to provide a set of basic guidelines for the development of sustainable biofuel policies and strategies at national level.


BEFS SADC Capacity Development Forum
FAO and the SADC Secretariat jointly organized a BEFS SADC Capacity Development Forum from 22-24 February 2012 in Johannesburg, South Africa. The purpose of the Forum was twofold:  1. to reflect on the current status of bioenergy development in SADC; and 2. to improve the capacity of policy makers from each of the SADC countries to evaluate bioenergy developments at the national and regional level, using the FAO Bioenergy and Food Security (BEFS) Analytical Framework and the associated tools and guidance.

Forum Summary 

BEFS Country Briefs
The FAO BEFS team has prepareda set of BEFS country briefs - one for each SADC country. These briefs include a range of information on the socio-economic, agricultural, food security and energy situation in each country. In addition, based on the BEFS Analytical Framework, a number of potential key issues for bioenergy development are described.
Preliminary drafts of the country briefs were presented at the BEFS SADC Capacity Development Forum in order to receive comments and suggestions from participants.

Angola Botswana 
Democratic Republic of Congo Lesotho 
Malawi Mauritius 
Mozambique Namibia 
Seychelles South Africa 
Swaziland Tanzania 
Zambia Zimbabwe 

last updated:  Wednesday, April 2, 2014