One hundred and seventeenth session of FAO Council opens at Headquarters

The one hundred and seventeenth session of the FAO Council opened today at the Organization's Headquarters in Rome. The FAO Council is the interim governing body of the Organization between biennial meetings of the FAO Conference. It comprises 49 Member Nations and meets at least three times between regular Conference sessions.

During this session, which closes 11 November, Council members will review FAO's activities, including the results of two major conferences held in 1999: the Conference of Plenipotentiaries on the Rotterdam Convention on Prior Informed Consent and the Conference on the Multifunctional Character of Agriculture and Land.

Discussion of the Organization's Programme of Work and Budget for 2000-2001 and its Strategic Framework 2000-2015 are also on the Council agenda.

The thirtieth FAO Conference, the Organization's supreme governing body, is scheduled from 12 to 23 November.

Go to Council documentation
Go to Conference documentation

9 November 1999



United Kingdom gives $34 million for African fisheries programme

Overexploitation of fishery resources, destructive fishing practices, damage to natural habitats, post-harvest losses and conflicts among fisheries have prompted the United Kingdom to finance a five-year, US$34 million programme that will create low-cost, small-scale projects in the artisanal fishery industry in 24 African countries.

The Sustainable Fisheries Livelihoods Programme (SFL) will assist the more than 5 million poor people in participating countries who are directly employed in artisanal fisheries. SFL promotes the sustainable use of fisheries resources and the importance of fisheries for poor, artisanal fishers, fish-processors and traders, most of whom are women.

The initiative will also help countries implement the FAO Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries, which emphasizes the need to reduce pollution, waste, discard and the catching of non-target species.

SFL is to be managed by FAO, the United Kingdom Department for International Development and the African countries involved. The countries participating are Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Chad, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

Go to Press release
Go to more on the FAO Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries

26 October 1999

 FAO Home page 

 Search our site 


©FAO, 1999