The European Commission for the Control of Foot-and-Mouth Disease (EuFMD)

Standing Technical Committee

The Standing Technical Committee (STC) is selected on the basis of individual expertise, with the objective of providing guidance to the Sessions of the Commission.

It aims to review proposed studies and their progress, and to identify issues affecting FMD management that need be brought to the Agenda of the Commission Sessions, and where appropriate, to the Member States.




Stephan Zientara (Chairperson)


Head of Virology Unit, Agence nationale de sécurité sanitaire de l’alimentation, de l’environnement et du travail (ANSES)

German Caceres Garrido   


Head of Epidemiology Department, Animal Health and Traceability Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

Giancarlo Ferrari


Veterinary Epidemiologist, Istituto Zooprofilattico Sperimentale delle Regioni Lazio e Toscana (IZSLT)

Sten Mortensen


Head of Animal Disease Control, Danish Veterinary and Food Administration

Katharina Staerk


Head of Department, Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen (BLV)

James Wood

United Kingdom

Head of Department of Veterinary Medicine & Alborada Professor of Equine and Farm Animal Science at the University of Cambridge