Home > FAO-EU Partnership > About the partnership > Project cycle > Development projects

FAO and EU Partnership

Project cycle

Development projects

The project cycle for development projects has seven phases:

  1. Programming
  2. Identification
  3. Formulation
  4. Appraisal, clearance and contracting
  5. Implementation, monitoring and reporting
  6. Evaluation and verification
  7. Final reporting, operational and financial closure

This cycle rests on two important principles:

  • The phases of the cycle are progressive – each phase should be completed for the next to be tackled with success.
  • New programming and project identification draws on the results of monitoring and evaluation, as part of a continuing process of feed-back and institutional learning.