Home > FAO Awards > FAO Conference Awards > Jacques Diouf Award
FAO Awards

Jacques Diouf Award

Best Contribution to Global Food Security.

The Jacques Diouf award is presented biennially to individuals or national/regional institutions that have made a significant contribution to the improvement of global food security.

Established in 2011, this award pays tribute to former FAO Director-General, Dr Jacques Diouf, recognizing his outstanding leadership, personal engagement, and untiring advocacy in the fight against poverty, hunger and malnutrition.

The award consists of an inscribed medal, a scroll describing achievements and a cash prize of USD 25,000. The winners receive their award from the Director-General at a special ceremony held at FAO headquarters during the year of the Conference.

The call for nominations is now closed! Winners will be announced in June 2019.

Basic Criteria

Any individual, national, regional or global institution who has made a significant contribution to the improvement of global food security can be nominated this Award.

The winning individual or institution should be one that has:

  • developed suitable analyses of the causes of food insecurity and successfully advocated for consistent measures that have been adopted and applied, on a large scale, by governments, civil society organizations and/or private enterprises, through programmes aimed at fighting hunger and malnutrition, and/or;
  • mobilized resources and led the implementation of large scale programmes for fighting hunger and malnutrition that have reached demonstrated and sustainable impact.

Proposals for nominations presented by national, regional or global institutions should be submitted to FAO Representatives or to FAO Regional and Sub-regional Representatives, in countries with no accredited FAO Representative. FAO National, Regional and Sub-regional Representatives or UNDP Resident Representatives, can also submit nominations directly to the FAO Awards Secretariat.

2017 Winners

The Jacques Diouf Award is jointly granted to 

The International Organization for Migration (IOM) and The Rabobank Foundation.

The International Organization for Migration (IOM) receives the award for having linked food security to the global debate over migration and development and influencing global development policies. IOM also plays a key role in voicing the needs of migrants in humanitarian affairs and climate change processes, drawing international attention to the gaps in respecting and protecting their social and economic human rights, including their right to adequate food, social protection and decent employment.

The Rabobank Foundation is recognized for their unfaltering technical and financial support to rural producer cooperatives and agribusinesses that have outgrown eligibility for donations and microcredit, but are not yet entitled to standard bank loans. By bridging this critical gap, the Foundation has helped boost the self-sufficiency of smallholder farmers and strengthened global food security. The Foundation has also promoted adherence to the Voluntary Guidelines on the Responsible Governance on Tenure of Land, Fisheries and Forests (VGGTs), demonstrating its sustainable approach to food security.

2015 Winners

The African Union Commission (AUC) receives the award for leveraging resources to boost the Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP), which focuses on improving and promoting sustainable agriculture, food and nutrition across across the African continent. The CAADP success helped pave the way to a commitment by African leaders at the 23rd AU Summit in Malabo to eradicate hunger in Africa by 2025.

The World Rural Forum (WRF) is recognised for effectively serving as a globe-spanning network of rural organizations and researchers. It is honoured for supporting dialogues between rural communities and for its policy advocacy on behalf of family farmers.

2013 - 2014

2013 - 2014

The European Commission received the award in recognition of their rapid and massive €1 billion response to the food price crisis in 2008-2011 under the EU Food Facility. This initiative improved the livelihoods of over 59 million people in 49 developing countries through the improvement of smallholder agricultural production. The EU Food Facility was the first major donor programme to help break a trend of more than 40 years where agriculture and food security were low on the political agenda. In doing so, the European Commission contributed significantly to placing sustainable agricultural development and food security at the frontline of the global development agenda.

The Self Employed Women's Association (SEWA) was also honoured for its innovative and dedicated efforts to lift extremely poor women out of poverty and hunger. SEWA was  selected for their innovative and dedicated efforts in lifting extremely poor women out of poverty and hunger through the integrated provision of agricultural extension, financial, literacy, education, care, housing, and health services.

This Gujarat-based association has close to two million members spanning several Indian States and has demonstrated over several decades that its model offers a sustainable pathway out of poverty and hunger. Their approach has also proven to be successful in empowering hundreds of thousands of women and has great potential as a model for other countries and an inspiration for cooperatives and other grassroots organizations all over the world.