FAO Awards

UN Rome-based Agencies Award of Excellence for Country-Level Collaboration

Based on a shared vision of promoting world food security for all, the UN’s Rome-based Agencies - FAO, IFAD and WFP - work together, both at global and country level, to maximize results and support countries in fighting hunger, malnutrition and poverty in a sustainable way. The Rome-based agency award celebrates country teams that go above and beyond the call of duty.  It recognises teams who think outside the box and harness their collaborative advantage to help countries move closer to the global Zero Hunger goal.  Teams who reduce hunger more effectively and efficiently and provide better solutions than any one agency can achieve alone.

The Award of Excellence for Country-Level Collaboration is presented every two years to winning teams during a special awards ceremony at FAO, IFAD or WFP Headquarters in Rome.

Basic criteria

Country teams representing all three agencies can only be considered for the Award. Teams must exemplify how by building  on the strengths and comparative advantages of the three agencies, they have reduced duplication and are using  resources more effectively, thereby delivering in a  more coordinated way at the country or regional level. The selection process looks for joint-programming and assesses the number of areas in which all three agencies are collaborating.  It identifies teams that demonstrate innovation, considers how their activities link with country strategies and how they have a positive impact on beneficiaries and overall results.

Previous Awardees

2018 winner – Guatemala country team


The country team was selected as winner of the biennial FAO-IFAD-WFP for its efforts in improving access to and control of natural resources and productive assets for women. The RBA activities in Guatemala have directly benefitted more than 350,000 rural people, including some of the most marginalized populations - rural women, youth, children, and indigenous peoples. The activities have strengthened local capacities, prioritized rural women as community promoters.  To this end, the Guatemala RBA country team has established a common vision to guarantee a multiplier effect, identifying a number of priority areas to further strengthen collaborative efforts and joint actions towards the achievement of SDG2.

2016 winner – Madagascar country team

The country team was selected as winner of the biennial FAO-IFAD-WFP for its efforts in 2015-16 to support the people of Madagascar as they coped with the consequences of consecutive years of drought.
The three agencies head up the Food Security and Livelihoods Cluster in Madagascar, an international mechanism for coordinating responses by UN agencies, nongovernmental organizations, governments and other humanitarian actors during food security crises.

2014 winner – Democratic Republic of Congo country team

The RBA Award of Excellence was presented to the team in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) in 2014, in recognition of its partnership to address hunger and malnutrition. The team achieved tangible results by capitalizing on the comparative advantage of each agency, one of which was the establishment of a consortium to support the Government in improving the agriculture sector.

2012 winner - Mozambique country team

The first ever RBA Award of Excellence in 2012 was presented to the Mozambique country team. The team was acknowledged for their innovative approach and for achieving concrete results, which would not have been possible by any one agency working alone.  All three agencies were involved in several common projects with different stakeholders at country level (the European Union, the Brazilian Government, the UN Development Cooperation Forum and a Belgian NGO).

Staff members from each of the three UN Rome-based agencies leveraged their comparative advantage and knowledge to ensure greater food security and sustainable agricultural development for the people of Mozambique.