CODEX ALIMENTARIUS COMMISSION





Viale delle Terme di Caracalla, 00153 Rome, Italy - Tel: (+39) 06 57051 - Fax: (+39) 06 5705 4593 - E-mail: codex@fao.org - www.codexalimentarius.net

Agenda Item 6

CX/AFRICA 11/19/10 September 2010

JOINT FAO/WHO FOOD STANDARDS PROGRAMME

FAO/WHO COORDINATING COMMITTEE FOR AFRICA

19th Session Accra, Ghana, 1 - 4 February 2011

NOMINATION OF THE COORDINATOR

- 1. The procedures governing the appointment of a Coordinator, as amended by the 30th Session of the Commission (2007) and approved by the Directors-General of FAO and WHO, are laid down in Rule IV of the Rules of Procedure of the Codex Alimentarius Commission.
- 2. The amended Rule IV reads as follows:
 - IV.1 The Commission may appoint a Coordinator from among the Members of the Commission for any of the geographic locations enumerated in Rule III.1 (hereinafter referred to as "regions") or for any group of countries specifically enumerated by the Commission (hereinafter referred to as "groups of countries"), whenever it may find, on the basis of a proposal of a majority of the Members of the Commission which constitute the region or group, that work for the Codex Alimentarius in the countries concerned so requires.
 - IV.2 Appointment of Coordinators shall be made exclusively on the proposal of a majority of the Members of the Commission which constitute the region or group of countries concerned. In principle, they shall be nominated at each session of the relevant Coordinating Committee established under Rule XI.1(b)(ii), and appointed at the following regular session of the Commission. They shall hold office from the end of this session. Coordinators may be reappointed for a second term. The Commission shall make such arrangements as may be necessary in order to ensure continuity in the functions of the Coordinators.
 - IV.3 The functions of the Coordinators shall be:
 - (i) to appoint the Chairperson of the Coordinating Committee where such committee has been set up under Rule XI.1(b)(ii) for the region or group of countries concerned.
 - (ii) to assist and coordinate the work of the Codex Committees set up under Rule XI(b)(i) in their region or group of countries in the preparation of draft standards, guidelines and other recommendations for submission to the Commission.
 - (ii) to assist the Executive Committee and the Commission, as required, by advising them of the views of countries and recognized regional intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations in their respective regions on matters under discussion or of interest.
- 3. In accordance with Rule V.1 of the Rules of Procedure, as amended by the 28th Session of the Commission (2005), the Coordinators serve as members in the Executive Committee, together with the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons as well as seven further members elected on a geographic basis. The geographic locations enumerated in Rule V.1 are as follows: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, Near East, North America and the South-West Pacific. The same Rule provides that not more than one delegate from any one country shall be a member of the Executive Committee.

CX/AFRICA 10/19/10 2

4. At the time of writing, 45 countries in the Region of Africa are members of the Codex Alimentarius Commission. These countries are:

Angola Gabon Niger Benin Gambia Nigeria Ghana Rwanda Botswana Burkina Faso Guinea Senegal Burundi Guinea-Bissau Seychelles Sierra Leone Cameroon Kenya Cape Verde Somalia Lesotho Central African Republic Liberia South Africa Swaziland Chad Madagascar Congo Malawi Togo Côte d'Ivoire Mali Uganda

Democratic Republic of the Mauritania United Republic of Tanzania

CongoMauritiusZambiaEquatorial GuineaMoroccoZimbabwe

Eritrea Mozambique Ethiopia Namibia

5. The Commission, at its 32nd Session (29 June – 4 July 2009), appointed Ghana as Coordinator for Africa (ALINORM 09/32/REP, para. 300). Ghana, having served for two terms, four years by July 2011, will not be eligible for re-appointment. A full list of Coordinators for Africa since the establishment of the CCAFRICA is given in the table below.

6. The Committee **is invited** to nominate a Coordinator for Africa (one of the Member countries on the list above) for appointment by the <u>Thirty-fourth Session of the Commission</u> (Geneva, 4 – 9 July 2011).

Coordinators for Africa

Coordinator	Country	Year of appointment	CAC Session	Duration of appointment
Dr R. Oteng	Ghana	1974	10	from 10 th to end of 11 th CAC
Dr T. N'Doye	Senegal	1978	12	from 12 th to end of 13 th CAC
Dr J.K. Misoi	Kenya	1981	13	from end of 13 th to end of 15 th CAC
Dr A. Randolph	Togo	1985	16	from end of 16 th to end of 17 th CAC
Mr T. Zaglool	Egypt	1987	17	from end of 17 th to end of 19 th CAC
Mr E. Essien	Nigeria	1991	19	from end of 19 th to end of 20 th CAC
Mr J. Abalaka	Nigeria	1993	20	from end of 20 th to end of 22 nd CAC
Mr D. Nhari	Zimbabwe	1997	22	from end of 22 nd to end of 23 rd CAC
Dr E. Kasirye-Alemu	Uganda	1999	23	from end of 23 rd to end of 24 th CAC
Uganda		2001	24	from end of 24 th to end of 26 th CAC
Morocco		2003	26	from end of 26 th to end of 30 th CAC
Ghana		2007	30	from end of 30 th to end of 34 th CAC