CODEX ALIMENTARIUS COMMISSION



Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations



Viale delle Terme di Caracalla, 00153 Rome, Italy - Tel: (+39) 06 57051 - E-mail: codex@fao.org - www.codexalimentarius.org

Agenda Item 12

CX/AFRICA 17/22/13 October 2016

JOINT FAO/WHO FOOD STANDARDS PROGRAMME FAO/WHO COORDINATING COMMITTEE FOR AFRICA

22th Session

Nairobi, Kenya, 16-20 January 2017

NOMINATION OF THE COORDINATOR

1. The procedures governing the appointment of a Coordinator, as amended by the 30th Session of the Commission (2007) and approved by the Directors-General of FAO and WHO, are laid down in Rule IV of the Rules of Procedure of the Codex Alimentarius Commission.

- 2. The amended Rule IV) reads as follows:
 - "IV.1 The Commission may appoint a Coordinator from among the Members of the Commission for any of the geographic locations enumerated in Rule III.1 (hereinafter referred to as "regions") or for any group of countries specifically enumerated by the Commission (hereinafter referred to as "groups of countries"), whenever it may find, on the basis of a proposal of a majority of the Members of the Commission which constitute the region or group, that work for the Codex Alimentarius in the countries concerned so requires.
 - IV.2 Appointment of Coordinators shall be made exclusively on the proposal of a majority of the Members of the Commission which constitute the region or group of countries concerned. In principle, they shall be nominated at each session of the relevant Coordinating Committee established under Rule XI.1(b)(ii), and appointed at the following regular session of the Commission. They shall hold office from the end of this session. Coordinators may be reappointed for a second term. The Commission shall make such arrangements as may be necessary in order to ensure continuity in the functions of the Coordinators.
 - IV.3 The functions of the Coordinators shall be:
 - (a) to appoint the Chairperson of the Coordinating Committee where such committee has been set up under Rule XI.1(b)(ii) for the region or group of countries concerned;
 - (b) to assist and coordinate the work of the Codex Committees set up under Rules XI.1(b)(i) in their region or group of countries in the preparation of draft standards, guidelines and other recommendations for submission to the Commission.
 - (c) to assist the Executive Committee and the Commission, as required, by advising them of the views of countries and recognized regional intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations in their respective regions on matters under discussion or of interest.

3. In accordance with Rule V.1 of the Rules of Procedure, as amended by the 28th Session of the Commission (2005), the Coordinators serve as members in the Executive Committee, together with the Chairperson and Vice-Chairpersons as well as seven further members elected on a geographic basis. The geographic locations enumerated in Rule V.1 are as follows: Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, Near East, North America and the South-West Pacific. The same Rule provides that not more than one delegate from any one country shall be a member of the Executive Committee.

4. At the time of writing, 49 countries in the Region of Africa are members of the Codex Alimentarius Commission. These countries are:

Angola	Gabon	Namibia
Benin	Gambia	Niger
Botswana	Ghana	Nigeria
Burkina Faso	Guinea	Sao Tome and Principe
Burundi	Guinea-Bissau	Senegal
Cabo Verde	Kenya	Seychelles
Cameroon	Lesotho	Sierra Leone
Central African Republic	Liberia	Somalia
Chad	Madagascar	South Africa
Comoros	Malawi	South Sudan
Congo	Mali	Swaziland
Côte d'Ivoire	Mauritania	Тодо
Democratic Republic of Congo	Mauritius	Uganda
Djibouti	Morocco	United Republic of Tanzania
Equatorial Guinea	Mozambique	Zambia
Eritrea	Rwanda	Zimbabwe
Ethiopia		

5. The Commission, at its 38th Session (6 - 11 July 2015), appointed Kenya as Coordinator for Africa (REP15/CAC, para. 185). Kenya having served for one term, two years by July 2017, will be eligible for reappointment. A full list of CCAFRICA Coordinators is given in the Table below.

6. The Committee **is invited** to nominate a Coordinator for Africa (one of the Member countries on the list above) for appointment by the 40th Session of the Commission (2017).

Coordinator	Country	Year of appointment	CAC Session	Duration appointment
Dr R. Oteng	Ghana	1974	10 th CAC	From 10 th to end of 11 th CAC
Dr T. N'Doye	Senegal	1978	12 th CAC	From 12 th to end of 13 th CAC
Dr J.K. Misoi	Kenya	1981	13 th CAC	From end of 13 th to 15 th CAC
Dr A. Randolph	Togo	1985	16 th CAC	From end of 16 th to 17 th CAC
Mr T. Zaglool	Egypt	1987	17 th CAC	From end of 17 th to 19 th CAC
Mr E. Essien	Nigeria	1991	19 th CAC	From end of 19 th to 20 th CAC
Mr J. Abalaka	Nigeria	1993	20 th CAC	From end of 20 th to 22 nd CAC
Mr D. Nhari	Zimbabwe	1997	22 nd CAC	From end of 22 nd to 23 rd CAC
Dr E. Kasirye-Alemu	Uganda	1999	23 rd CAC	From end of 23 rd to 24 th CAC
Uganda		2001	24 th CAC	From end of 24 th to 26 th CAC
Morocco		2003	26 th CAC	From end of 26 th to 30 th CAC
Ghana		2007	30 th CAC	From end of 30 th to 34 th CAC
Cameroon		2011	34 th CAC	From end of 34 th to 36 th CAC
Cameroon		2013	36 th CAC	From end of 36 th to 38 th CAC
Kenya		2015	38 th CAC	From end of 38 th to 40 th CAC

CCAFRICA Coordinators