How to apply for a visa for the Republic of Korea

General information

On the following link you will find information regarding visas to the Republic of Korea: https://www.visa.go.kr/openPage.do?MENU_ID=10102. There are 15 categories of the visa including Short Term Visit. Visa Navigator (https://www.visa.go.kr/openPage.do?MENU_ID=10101) will help you find which visa suits you.

Where to apply for a visa

You can apply for a visa via the Visa Portal (online at https://www.visa.go.kr/openPage.do?MENU_ID=10201) or Korean diplomatic missions abroad. Most embassies will require that you register your visa application online.

Booking of an appointment

If you would apply for a visa via Korean diplomatic missions abroad, you will be asked to book an appointment to submit required documents. In many embassies it will not be possible to submit an application without a booked appointment. You should consult with the Korean embassy on the date of visit, procedures and so on.

Handing in documents

The required documents that must be handed in may vary from country to country. In some countries you will hand in the application to the embassy of another country. Please check here (https://www.visa.go.kr/openPage.do?MENU_ID=10106) where to hand in visa application from your country of residence, and which documents those are required in Visa Navigator.

Notification of evaluation results

You can check the result of your application through "Application Status" via the Visa Portal (https://www.visa.go.kr/), ARS (+82-2-2650-6363), text message or e-mail address you gave Korean government.

Visa-free or visa exemption

Those who are from the countries of Appendix 1 or 2 could visit the Republic of Korea without a visa.

Appendix 1. Nationals of countries or regions allowed for visa-free entry (up to 30 days unless noticed otherwise) into Korea

Continents	Countries or Regions	
Asia or regions (6 countries)	Brunei (30 days), Hong Kong (90 days), Indonesia (diplomatic and official, 30 days), Japan (90 days), Macau (90 days), Taiwan (90 days)	
America (7 countries)	Argentina (30 days), Canada (6 months), Ecuador (90days), Guyana (30 days), Honduras (30 days), Paraguay (30 days), United States (90 days)	
Europe (11 countries)	Albania (30 days), Andora (30 days), Bosnia-Herzegovina (30 days), Croatia (90 days), Cyprus (30 days), Monaco (30 days), Montenegro (30 days), San Marine (30 days), Serbia (90 days), Slovenia (90 days), Vatican (30 days)	
Oceania or regions (13 countries)	Australia (90 days), Fiji (30 days), Guam (30 days), Kiribati (30 days), Marshall Islands (30 days), Micronesia (30 days), Nauru (30 days), New Caledonia (30 days), Palau (30 days), Samoa (30 days), Solomon Islands (30 days), Tonga (30 days), Tuvalu (30 days)	
Middle East And Africa (11 countries)	Bahrain (30 days), Egypt (30 days), Kuwait (90 days), Lebanon (diplomatic and official 30 days), Mauritius (30 days), Oman (30 days), Qatar (30 days), Saudi Arabia (30 days), Seychelles (30 days), South Africa (30 days), Swaziland (30 days)	

Appendix 2. Countries under visa exemption agreement List

Total	Passport	Countries		
	Type Diplomatic			
	(3	Turkmenistan (30 days), Uzbekistan (60 days), Jordan		
	countries)			
106 countries (up to 90 days unless noticed otherwise)	Diplomatic & Official (36 countries)	Algeria, Argentina, Azerbaijan (30 days), Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Cambodia (60 days), China (30 days), Cyprus, Croatia, Ecuador (Diplomatic: as needed for work performance, Official: 3 months), Egypt, Gabon, India, Iran (3 months), Japan (3 months), Kuwait(90 days within 180 days), Laos, Mongolia, Pakistan (3 months), Paraguay, the Philippines (Unlimited), Ukraine, Uruguay, Vietnam, Moldova(90 days within 180 days), Tajikistan, Georgia, Myanmar, Bolivia, Kyrgyz (30 days), Armenia, Angola (30 days), Oman, Mozambique		
	Diplomatic & Official & Ordinary (67 countries)	Asia (4 countries)	Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand	
		America (25 countries)	Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Commonwealth of Dominica, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Venezuela (Diplomatic/Official: 30 days, Ordinary: 90 days), Uruguay	
		Europe (32 countries)	[Schengen countries (except for Slovenia out of the 26 Schengen countries)], Austria (Diplomatic/Official: 180 days), Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Latvia, Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal (60 days), Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland ** Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Sweden (90 days within 180 days) [Non-Schengen countries] Bulgaria, Ireland, Romania, Turkey, UK, Kazakhstan (30 days) ** Russia (60 days in a row, not exceeding 90 days within 180	
			days)	
		Africa & Middle East (6 countries)	Israel, Liberia, Morocco, Tunisia (30 days), Lesotho (60 days), United Arab Emirates	

Appendix 3. e-Visa Application via the Visa Portal

1. Application Process

Select "Application" >> "E-Visa(Individual)" on the Visa Portal (www.visa.go.kr)

2. Required Documents

- 1) Visa Application Form (electronic form on the Visa Portal)
- 2) Scanned image files of passport pages
- 3) Digital Photograph (in natural color, size: 3.5cm x 4.5cm)
- 4) Fee (credit card for e-Payment)
- 5) Required documents for respective status of stay (soft copy)
- Please refer to the guide on required documents for each type of visa on the Visa Navigator (https://www.visa.go.kr/openPage.do?MENU_ID=10101) or to the Visa Information on the website of a respective diplomatic office.

3. Procedure

- 1) Applicant Completion of Application Form (Visa portal)
- 2) Applicant e-Payment (Visa portal)
- 3) Applicant Submission of Application (Visa portal)
- 4) Sponsor (corporation/individual) Confirmation Invitation (Visa portal)
- 5) Visa official Reception & Review
- 6) Sponsor, Applicant Confirmation of Results (Visa portal)
- 7) Sponsor, Applicant Printing & Sending confirmation of E-Visa Issuance (Visa portal)
- 8) Applicant Arrival in Korea

Appendix 4. Visa Application via Korean Diplomatic Missions Abroad

1. Location of Application

Korean Embassy or Consulate in the applicant's country (or area) of residence

2. Required Documents

- 1) Visa Application Form (application form No.17, or please click the 'Application' menu on the Visa Portal >> Fill out the electronic form)
- 2) Passport
- 3) Photo (natural color, 3.5cm x 4.5cm)
- 4) Fee (in U.S. dollars)
- You can pay the fee in the currency of your own country only if you receive permission from the head of the Korean diplomatic mission in your country.
- 5) Required documents for corresponding status of stay
- ** The required documents mentioned on the Visa Navigator are of the minimum requirements. Depending on the circumstances of one's country, the head of the Korean diplomatic mission may request/exempt additional documents for further evaluation. Therefore, in the case that required documents on the Visa Navigator do not match with those of the diplomatic mission, please follow the instructions and requirements provided by the respective diplomatic mission.

3. Procedure

- 1) Applicant Submission of Application
- 2) Visa Consul Reception & Review (Diplomatic Office)
- 3) Visa Consul Visa Issuance (Diplomatic Office)
- 4) Applicant Arrival in Korea
- * For any other inquiries, please contact the consular affair Korean diplomatic missions in your country of residence.