FAO Regional Meeting on Agricultural Biotechnologies in Sustainable Food Systems and Nutrition in Sub-Saharan Africa: Members of the Advisory Panel (AP)<sup>1</sup>

Source	Name	Sectoral expertise	Gender	Country of work
Global AP	Louise Fresco	Cross	F	Netherlands
Global AP	Shadrack Moephuli	Cross	M	South Africa
Global AP	Margaret Gill	Cross	F	UK/Italy
AfDB	Benedict Kanu	Cross	M	Cote d'Ivoire
African Union	Janet Edeme	Cross	F	Ethiopia
IITA	Melaku Gedil	Crops	M	Nigeria
CSIR	Ruby Asmah	Fisheries	F	Ghana
ICRAF	Ramni Jamnadass	Forestry	F	Kenya
AATF	Emmanuel Okogbenin	Crops	M	Kenya
Univ. of Pretoria	Este van Marle-Köster	Livestock	F	South Africa
Focal points of	Firew Mekbib		M	Ethiopia
host government	Endale Gebre		M	Ethiopia
Private Sector	Siyabulela Ntutela		M	South Africa
Civil Society	Djibo Bagna		M	Burkina Faso

-

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Members of the AP for a regional meeting come from the following 3 categories, separated by the blank line in the table (Note, people in the first two categories sit on the AP in their personal capacity):

<sup>1.</sup> Three key people from the AP to the FAO 2016 Global Symposium (<a href="http://www.fao.org/about/meetings/agribiotechs-symposium/advisory-panel/en/">http://www.fao.org/about/meetings/agribiotechs-symposium/advisory-panel/en/</a>). They are members of the APs for both regional meetings in 2017 (i.e. in Asia-Pacific and Sub-Saharan Africa).

<sup>2.</sup> A small number of individuals from relevant organizations in the region. In choosing these people, consideration was given to their relevant technical and sectoral expertise (crops, forestry, fisheries, livestock), geographic distribution and gender.

<sup>3.</sup> Representatives of the host government and of the civil society and the private sector in the region. Representatives of the host government were nominated by the host government. Representatives of the private sector and civil society were identified by the sectors themselves through a process managed by the FAO Office for Partnerships and South-South Cooperation Division (DPS).

## Some background on the members:

- Louise Fresco: President of the Executive Board of Wageningen University. Former Co-Chair of the Advisory Panel for the FAO Global Symposium on Agricultural Biotechnologies in 15-17 February 2016 and member of the Advisory Panel for the FAO Regional Meeting on Agricultural Biotechnologies in Sustainable Food Systems and Nutrition in Asia-Pacific (11-13 September 2017, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia).
   <a href="http://www.wageningenur.nl/en/newsarticle/Louise-O.-Fresco-new-President-of-Wageningen-UR.htm">http://www.wageningenur.nl/en/newsarticle/Louise-O.-Fresco-new-President-of-Wageningen-UR.htm</a>
- Shadrack Moephuli: President and chief executive officer of the Agricultural Research Council (ARC) in South Africa. Former Co-Chair of the Advisory Panel for the FAO Global Symposium on Agricultural Biotechnologies in 15-17 February 2016 and member of the Advisory Panel for the FAO Regional Meeting on Agricultural Biotechnologies in Sustainable Food Systems and Nutrition in Asia-Pacific (11-13 September 2017, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia).
  http://www.wipo.int/meetings/en/2011/wipo\_ip\_lsbiot\_ge\_11/bios/moephuli.html
  http://www.fao.org/3/a-bt519e.pdf
- Margaret Gill: Chair of the CGIAR Independent Science and Partnership Council. Former
  member of the Advisory Panel for the FAO Global Symposium on Agricultural
  Biotechnologies in 15-17 February 2016 and member of the Advisory Panel for the FAO
  Regional Meeting on Agricultural Biotechnologies in Sustainable Food Systems and Nutrition
  in Asia-Pacific (11-13 September 2017, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia).
  <a href="http://www.sciencecouncil.cgiar.org/about/people/maggie-gill">http://www.sciencecouncil.cgiar.org/about/people/maggie-gill</a>
- Benedict Kanu: Lead Agriculture Expert, Agriculture & Agro-Industry Department, African Development Bank (AfDB)
   <a href="https://www.afdb.org/fileadmin/uploads/afdb/Documents/AEC/2016/Biographies\_AEC\_2016">https://www.afdb.org/fileadmin/uploads/afdb/Documents/AEC/2016/Biographies\_AEC\_2016</a>
   <a href="panels\_and\_spe\_events\_FR.pdf">panels\_and\_spe\_events\_FR.pdf</a>
- **Janet Edeme**: Head of Rural Economy and Agriculture Division, Department of Rural Economy and Agriculture Division, African Union Commission <a href="http://www.africa-seeds.org/en/governing-board/">http://www.africa-seeds.org/en/governing-board/</a>
- Melaku Gedil: Head, IITA Bioscience Center, International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA).
   <a href="http://bioscience.iita.org/index.php/en/people/scientists/9-uncategorised/119-melaku-gedil">http://bioscience.iita.org/index.php/en/people/scientists/9-uncategorised/119-melaku-gedil</a>
- Ruby Asmah: Head, Fishery and Aquaculture Division, Water Research Institute, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, Accra, Ghana http://projects.au.dk/fileadmin/RubyAsmah.pdf
- **Ramni Jamnadass**: Science Domain Leader, World Agroforestry Centre (ICRAF), Kenya <a href="http://www.worldagroforestry.org/staff/ramni-jamnadass">http://www.worldagroforestry.org/staff/ramni-jamnadass</a>
- **Emmanuel Okogbenin**: Director, Technical Operations, African Agricultural Technology Foundation http://www.aatf-africa.org/about-us/governance/staff/emmanuel-okogbenin

 Este van Marle-Köster: Professor, Department of Animal and Wildlife Sciences, University of Pretoria
 <a href="http://www.up.ac.za/the-genomics-research-institute/article/1929230/professor-este-van-marle-koster">http://www.up.ac.za/the-genomics-research-institute/article/1929230/professor-este-van-marle-koster</a>

• **Firew Mekbib**: Professor, Department of Plant Science, Haramaya University, Dire Dawa, Ethiopia

https://www.omicsonline.org/author-profile/firew-mekbib-182514/

Endale Gebre: Agricultural Biotechnology Research Directorate Director, Ethiopian Institute
of Agricultural Research (EIAR), Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
<a href="http://www.eiar.gov.et/index.php/component/contact/22-research-directors/13-dr-endale-gebre;">http://www.eiar.gov.et/index.php/component/contact/22-research-directors/13-dr-endale-gebre;</a>
<a href="http://www.africanpotatoassociation.org/about-apa/council-members/">http://www.africanpotatoassociation.org/about-apa/council-members/</a>

**Siyabulela Ntutela**: Chief Executive Officer, AfricaBio https://www.africabio.com/about?lightbox=dataItem-j818sic41

• **Djibo Bagna**: Head, Réseau des Organisations Paysannes et des Producteurs de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (ROPPA)

https://pafo-africa.org/roppa/

http://www.csa-be.org/IMG/pdf\_Biodata\_des\_intervenants\_EN.pdf