FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Description
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information

The Asia-Pacific Fishery Commission (APFIC) is an FAO Article XIV body. There are 21 contracting governments to the Commission. The inter-sessional activities and regional fisheries priorities of the APFIC member countries are determined every 2 years at its regular session. In 2012, the APFIC held it 32nd Session and in 2013, the Executive Council met to ratify and work and plans of the Commission. The FAO regional Office for Asia and the Pacific (RAP) based in Bangkok, Thailand hosts the Secretariat for the APFIC and the FAO Senior Fisheries Officer based in RAP is the Secretary of the Commission. The Commission’s biennial session is complimented with the Regional Consultative Forum Meeting (RCFM) which is attended by governments officials of the member countries, projects staff, regional and inter-governmental fisheries bodies, and other UN organizations. The deliberations and recommendations of the RCFM feed into the decision making and prioritization processes of the APFIC session.

The Commission is an advisory body, its purpose is to promote the full and sustainable utilization of living aquatic resources through economically viable and environmentally sustainable policies, practices and operations and finding solutions to emerging regional fisheries issues that affect the member countries. The FAO secretariat provides support and assists the Member States in implementing their identified priorities. This is done through awareness raising, policy formulation and advice, promoting sustainable fisheries management tools, preparing studies on the status and trends of the fish resources, implementing projects and training and building partnerships. APFIC is a leader in Asia pacific Fisheries.

Area of competenceAPFIC's area of competence is the Asia-Pacific area, including the Bay of Bengal.
APFIC area of competence - High seas, National waters, Inland waters
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.
Species and stocks coverage Marine, fresh and brackish water species, including coastal, and high seas stocks. Members

Member: Australia, Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, France, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States of America, Viet Nam.

Further information

Powered by FIGIS