FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information
Objectives The Bay of Bengal Programme (BOBP) is an Inter-Governmental Organisation mandated to enhance cooperation among member-countries, other countries and organisations in the region and provide technical and management advisory services for sustainable marine fisheries development and management, with a focus on small-scale and artisanal fishers, in the Bay of Bengal region. Area of competenceExclusive Economic Zones under the jurisdiction of the Member States (Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Sri Lanka) and contiguous areas beyond national jurisdiction.
BOBP-IGO area of competence - High seas, National waters
The designations employed and the presentation of material in the map(s) are for illustration only and do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal or constitutional status of any country, territory or sea area, or concerning the delimitation of frontiers or boundaries.
Species and stocks coverage All marine fish stocks. Members

Member: Bangladesh, India, Maldives, Sri Lanka.

Further information

Powered by FIGIS