FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Description
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information
Description The mandate of the Commission is to sustainably and equitably manage the Lake Chad Waters and the other transboundary resources (including the aquatic resources) of the Lake Chad Basin. Area of competenceThe jurisdiction of the LCBC extends to the Conventional Basin (967 000 sqkm, without Libya) made of three (3) regions in Cameroon, three (3) in Central African Republic, two (2) in Niger and six (6) States in Nigeria, and the entire Chad Republic.
CBLT area of competence - Inland waters
The designations employed and the presentation of material in the map(s) are for illustration only and do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal or constitutional status of any country, territory or sea area, or concerning the delimitation of frontiers or boundaries.
Species and stocks coverageSustainable and equitable management of the Lake Chad waters and other transboundary water resources of the Lake Chad Basin. Members

Member: Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Libya, Niger, Nigeria.

Further information

Powered by FIGIS