FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information
Objectives The Commission for the Conservation of Antarctic Marine Living Resources (CCAMLR) was established in 1982; it responsible for the conservation and management of marine living resources in the Antarctic Ocean.
The Convention's management objectives balance "conservation" and "rational use" of marine living resources to ensure that stocks are harvested sustainably, existing ecological relationships between harvested, dependent and related species are maintained and depleted populations are restored to levels at which their biological productivity is greatest.
Area of competence

All waters bounded by the Antarctic Continent to the south, and to the north by a line starting at 50°S 50°W; thence due east to 30°E longitude; thence due north to 45°S latitude; thence due east to 80°E longitude; thence due south to 55°S latitude; thence due east to 150°E longitude; thence due south to 60°S latitude; thence due east to 50°W longitude; thence due north to the starting point.

CCAMLR area of competence
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.
Species and stocks coverageAll the populations of fin fish, molluscs, crustaceans and all other species of living organisms, including birds, found south of the Antarctic Convergence, but excluding whales and seals, which are the subject of other conventions. Members

Member: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Chile, China, European Union, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Namibia, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay.

Further information

Powered by FIGIS