FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nationsfor a world without hunger
  1. Mission
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Legal framework
  5. Languages
  6. Members
  7. Structure
  8. Activities and meetings
  9. Further information
MissionObjectivesThe main objectives of the Regional Commission of Fisheries of Gulf of Guinea (COREP) are:
  • to harmonize fisheries policy and legal frameworks of parties;
  • to determine a concerted attitude towards the activities of foreign fishing vessels and to give priority to the needs of the fishing vessels originating from member countries;
  • to preserve and protect aquatic ecosystems, both marine and inland waters;
  • to harmonize members’ national regulations with a view to having a unified regulation fixing the conditions of fishing and the control of fishing operations in the area covered by the Convention;
  • to assess the status of shared or transboundary stocks;
  • to collect, analyse and make available scientific data as well as information and techniques for fisheries and aquaculture.
Area of competence The Gulf of Guinea and inland waters of parties.
COREP area of competence - National waters, Inland waters
The designations employed and the presentation of material in the map(s) are for illustration only and do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal or constitutional status of any country, territory or sea area, or concerning the delimitation of frontiers or boundaries.
Species and stocks coverage All living resources within the area of competence. Legal framework Established by the Convention Concerning the Regional Development of Fisheries in the Gulf of Guinea, signed at Libreville, Gabon, on 21 June 1984. The Convention was superseded by a new Convention of the same name. The new Convention comes into full effect once two-thirds of the states have signed it. Since 2008, the COREP is a specialized organization of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS). LanguagesFrench, Portuguese, Spanish. Members

Member: Cameroon, Congo, Dem. Rep. of the Congo, Gabon, Sao Tome and Principe.

Observers: Angola, Equatorial Guinea.

Structure It is foreseen that the COREP will be composed of:
  • A Council of Ministers – the governing body;
  • A Technical Committee – to provide advice on scientific and technical issues to the Council of Ministers;
  • A Scientific Sub-Committee – which issues scientific and technical advice to the Technical Committee and the Secretariat;
  • An Executive Secretariat.
Activities and meetings The COREP has developed and endorsed a strategic plan of action (2009-2015) with support from FAO and based on the Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries.

Further information

Powered by FIGIS