FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Legal framework
  3. Area of competence
  4. Members
  5. Languages
  6. Publications
  7. Further information

The main objectives of the Commission are to adopt and coordinate plans and measures relevant to conservation, preservation and the rational exploitation of living resources and to protect the maritime environment in the Common Fishing Zone. To comply with its objectives the Commission compiles fishery statistics from its members. At present landing of some 80 species are registered out of which 20 % are shark and ray species. The Commission also coordinates research plans of the member Parties, promotes joint stock assessments and based on the principles of the Code of Conduct for Responsible Fisheries, it establishes regulatory management measures.

The Terms of Reference for the Commission are defined in Article 80 of the Agreement, and expounded in Article 82. The Commission is responsible for conducting studies and adopting and coordinating plans and measures for the conservation, preservation and rational exploitation of living resources and the protection of the marine environment of the Common Fishing Zone. CTMFM meets monthly in Plenary Sessions. The main tasks of the Commission are undertaken by four sub-commissions: Living Resources, Environmental, Legal and Administrative Issues. The Commission gets scientific advice from the National Fishery Laboratories and academics of both Parties. Experts from both countries form Working Groups that meet periodically to jointly advise on fishery resources, and different environmental issues.

Legal framework

The CTMFM was established by the Tratado del Rio de la Plata y su Frente Maritimo (Agreement on the Plate River and Ocean Areas Adjacent and Beyond the River) of 19 November 1973. The text of the Agreement can be found at http://ctmfm.org/?page_id=23. By arrangement with the Administrative Commision of the Rio de la Plata (Joint Resolution CARP-CTMFM 2/2006), the CTMFM extended its area of competence in relation to fishery research and management covering the entire area of the Agreement.

Area of competenceThe Common Fishing Zone extends beyond 12 nautical mile, measured from the corresponding coastal baselines, for duly registered vessels flying their flag. The Zone is determined by two arcs of circumference of a radius of 200 nautical miles, the centres of which are located at Punta del Este (Uruguay) and Punta Rasa del Cabo San Antonio (Argentina).
CTMFM area of competence - EEZ
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.

Member: Argentina, Uruguay.

LanguagesSpanish. Publications

The CTMFM official publication is FRENTE MARITIMO (in Spanish only).

Further information


Juncal 1355
Oficina 604

Telephone: + (598) 2916-2047 / 1973 /2773

Fax: + (598) 2916 – 1578

Email: secretariatecnica

Email: secretariaadministrativa

Web site: http://www.ctmfm.org/

(in Spanish only)
Powered by FIGIS