FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information
Objectives The objective of the Inter-American Tropical Tuna Commission (IATTC) is to ensure the long-term conservation and sustainable use of tuna and tuna-like species and other species of fish taken by vessels fishing for tunas and tuna like species in the Eastern Pacific Ocean, in accordance with the relevant rules of international law. Area of competence

The IATTC area of application comprises the area of the Pacific Ocean bounded by the coastline of North, Central, and South America and by the following lines: the 50°N parallel from the coast of North America to its intersection with the 150°W meridian; the 150°W meridian to its intersection with the 50°S parallel; and the 50°S parallel to its intersection with the coast of South America.

IATTC area of competence - High seas, National waters
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.

Species and stocks coverageTuna and tuna-like species and other species of fish taken by vessels fishing for tunas and tuna-like species. Members

Member: Belize, Canada, China, Taiwan Province of China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, European Union, France, Guatemala, Kiribati, Japan, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Republic of Korea, United States of America, Vanuatu, Boliv Rep of Venezuela.

Cooperating Non-Members: Bolivia (Plurinat.State), Honduras, Indonesia, Liberia.

Further information

Powered by FIGIS