FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information
Objectives The International Commission for the Conservation of Atlantic Tunas (ICCAT) is responsible for the conservation of tunas and tuna-like species in the Atlantic Ocean and adjacent seas. Area of competence All waters of the Atlantic Ocean, including adjacent seas.
ICCAT area of competence - High seas, National waters
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.
Species and stocks coverage

Tuna, tuna-like species and pelagic sharks fished in the ICCAT Convention area.

Currently ICCAT is conducting full assessment of the following stocks:

Yellowfin tuna (Thunnus albacores) (Atlantic stock); bigeye tuna (Thunnus obesus) (Atlantic stock); skipjack tuna (Katsuwonus pelamis) (East and West Atlantic stocks); albacore tuna (Thunnus alalunga) (North and South Atlantic and Mediterranean stocks); Atlantic bluefin tuna (Thunnus thynnus t.) (West Atlantic stock and East Atlantic and Mediterranean stock); swordfish (Xiphias gladius) (North and South Atlantic and Mediterranean stocks); sailfish (Istiophorus albicans) (East and West Atlantic stock); blue marlin (Makaira nigricans) (Atlantic stock); white marlin (Tetrapturus albidus) (Atlantic stock; blue shark (Prionace glauca) (North and South Atlantic stocks); shortfin mako shark (Isurus oxyrinchus) (North and South Atlantic stocks); portbeagle (Lamna nasus) (Northwest, Northeast and Southwest Atlantic stocks).

Other species under study are:

Longbill spearfish (Tetrapturus pfluegeri); bullet tuna (Auxis rochei rochei); frigate tuna (Auxis thazard thazard); Atlantic Spanish mackerel (Scomberomorus maculates); Serra Spanish mackerel (Scomberomorus brasiliensis) little tuna (Euthynnus alletteratus, Euthynnus affinis); Atlantic bonito (Sarda sarda); Plain bonito (Orcynopsis unicolor); Cero (Scomberomorus regalis); King mackerel (Scomberomorus cavalla); Scomberomorus unclassified (Scomberomorus spp.); West African Spanish mackerel (Scomberomorus tritor); Wahoo (Acanthocybium solandri); Dolphinfish (Coryphaena hippurus); longbill spearfish (Tetrapturus pfluegeri); bigeye thresher (Alopias superciliosus); thresher (Alopias vulpinus); silky shark (Carcharhinus falciformis); oceanic whitetip shark (Carcharhinus longimanus); Dusky shark (Carcharhinus obscurus); sandbar shark (Carcharhinus plumbeus); night shark (Carcharhinus signatus); tiger shark (Galeocerdo cuvier); longfin mako (Isurus paucus); Pteroplatytrigon violacea (PST); scalloped hammerhead (Sphyrna lewini); great hammerhead (Sphyrna mokarran); Smooth hammerhead (Sphyrna zygaena).


Member: Albania, Algeria, Angola, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Canada, Cabo Verde, China, Côte d'Ivoire, Curaçao, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, European Union, France, Gabon, Ghana, Guatemala, Guinea, Honduras, Iceland, Japan, Liberia, Libya, Morocco, Mauritania, Mexico, Namibia, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Norway, Panama, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Saint Vincent/Grenadines, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Syrian Arab Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Boliv Rep of Venezuela.

Cooperating States: Bolivia (Plurinat.State), Guyana, Suriname, Taiwan Province of China.

Further information

Powered by FIGIS