FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information

Lake Victoria Fisheries Organization (LVFO) is a specialized Institution of EAC with the mandate to coordinate the management of the fisheries resources of Lake Victoria for sustainable development and utilization, and to spearhead aquaculture development in the Basin. The Organization was established by a Convention signed on 30 June 1994 by the Republic of Kenya, the United Republic of Tanzania and the Republic of Uganda sharing Lake Victoria. LVFO is registered under Article 102 of the United Nations Charter and recognized as a Regional Fisheries Management Organization (RFMO).

The objectives of the Lake Victoria Fishing Organization (LVFO) are to foster cooperation among the Contracting Parties, harmonize national measures for the sustainable utilization of the living resources of the Lake and to develop and adopt conservation and management measures.

Area of competenceLake Victoria.
LVFO area of competence - Inland waters
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.
Species and stocks coverageAll aquatic species in Lake Victoria. Members

Member: Kenya, Uganda, United Rep. of Tanzania.

Further information

http://www.lvfo.org/ and http://www.anafaquacture.org

Lake Victoria Fisheries Organization

Plot No. 78/7E, Busoga Square
Belle Avenue
P.O. Box 1625

Telephone: (+256) 434125000

Fax: (+256) 434123123

Email: lvfo-sec@lvfo.org

Email: es@lvfo.org

Web site: http://www.lvfo.org/index.php

Web site: http://www.anafaquaculture.org

Powered by FIGIS