FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information
Objectives The Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization's (NAFO) overall objective is to contribute through consultation and cooperation to the optimum utilization, rational management and conservation of the fishery resources of its area of competence, and to ensure the long term conservation and sustainable use of the fishery resources and, in so doing, to safeguard the marine ecosystems in which these resources are found. Area of competenceThe waters of the Northwest Atlantic Ocean, north of 35°00' north latitude and west of a line extending due north from 35°00' north latitude and 42°00' west longitude to 59°00' north latitude, thence due west to 44°00' west longitude, and thence due north to the coast of Greenland, and the waters of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, Davis Strait and Baffin Bay south of 78°10' north latitude. Within this area, NAFO may only regulate fishing activity beyond Coastal States’ EEZs.
NAFO area of competence - High seas, National waters
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.
Species and stocks coverageAll marine fisheries resources, except salmon, tunas, marlins, whales and sedentary species (e.g. shellfish and lobsters). Members

Member: Canada, Cuba, Denmark, Faroe Islands, Greenland, European Union, France, Iceland, Japan, Norway, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, United Kingdom, Ukraine, United States of America.
* Denmark (in respect of the Faroe Islands and Greenland).
** France (in respect of St. Pierre and Miquelon).

Further information

Powered by FIGIS