FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information
Objectives The objective of the North Pacific Fisheries Commission (NPFC) is to ensure the long-term conservation and sustainable use of the fisheries resources in its area of competence, while protecting the marine ecosystems of the North Pacific Ocean. Area of competence

NPFC has competence over the waters of the high seas area of the North Pacific Ocean, excluding the high seas areas of the Bering Sea and other high seas areas that are surrounded by the exclusive economic zone of a single State. The area of application is bounded to the south by a continuous line beginning at the seaward limit of waters under the jurisdiction of the United States of America around the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands at twenty (20) degrees North latitude, then proceeding East and connecting the following coordinates:

  • 20°00'00”N, 180°00'00"E/W;
  • 10°00'00"N, 180°00'00"E/W;
  • 10°00'00"N, 140°00'00"W;
  • 20°00'00"N, 140°00'00"W; and
  • thence East to the seaward limit of waters under the fisheries jurisdiction of Mexico.
NPFC area of competence - High seas
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.
Species and stocks coverage

NPFC covers all fish, mollusks, crustaceans and other marine species caught by fishing vessels within the Convention Area, excluding:

(i) sedentary species insofar as they are subject to the sovereign rights of coastal States; and indicator species of vulnerable marine ecosystems as listed in, or adopted pursuant to the NPFC Convention;

(ii) catadromous species;

(iii) marine mammals, marine reptiles and seabirds; and

(iv) other marine species already covered by pre-existing international fisheries management instruments within the area of competence of such instruments.


Member: Canada, China, Japan, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Taiwan Province of China, United States of America, Vanuatu.

Further information

Powered by FIGIS