FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information

The Regional Organization for the Conservation of the Environment of the Red Sea & Gulf of Aden (PERSGA) aims at the rational use of living and non-living marine and coastal resources, in a manner ensuring optimum benefit for the present generation, while maintaining the potential of that environment to satisfy the needs and aspirations of future generations.

While PERSGA is primarily concerned with the protection of the marine and coastal environment, it has taken steps towards the establishment of a regional commission for fisheries in its area of competence.

Area of competence

The Red Sea, the Gulf of Aqaba, the Gulf of Suez, the Suez Canal to its end on the Mediterranean, and the Gulf of Aden as bounded by the following rhumb lines:

From Ras Dharbat Ali (lat. 16°39’ N, long. 53°03.5’ E), thence to a point (lat. 16°00’ N, long. 53°25’ E), thence to a point (lat. 12°40’ N, long. 55°00’ E) lying E.N.E. of Socotra Island, thence to Ras Hafun (lat. 10°26’ N, long. 51°25’ E).

PERSGA area of competence
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.
Species and stocks coverageAll elements of the marine and coastal environment. Members

Member: Djibouti, Egypt, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Yemen.

Further information

Powered by FIGIS