FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information

The Southeast Asian Fisheries Development Center (SEAFDEC) is mandated to develop and manage the fisheries potential of the region by rational utilization of the resources for providing food security and safety to the people and alleviating poverty through transfer of new technologies, research and information dissemination activities.

The strategic objectives of SEAFDEC are (i) to promote rational and sustainable use of fisheries resources in the region; (ii) to enhance the capability of fisheries sector to address emerging international issues and for greater access to international trade; (iii) to alleviate poverty among the fisheries communities in Southeast Asia; and (iv) to enhance the contribution of fisheries to food security and livelihood in the region.

Area of competence SEAFDEC does not have a defined geographical area of competence, as SEAFDEC is technical organization with no management authority.
SEAFDEC area of competence - High seas, National waters, Inland waters
The designations employed and the presentation of material in the map(s) are for illustration only and do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal or constitutional status of any country, territory or sea area, or concerning the delimitation of frontiers or boundaries.
Species and stocks coverageAll fishery resources. Members

Member: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Japan, Lao People's Dem. Rep., Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam.

Further information

Powered by FIGIS