FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN
  1. Objectives
  2. Area of competence
  3. Species and stocks coverage
  4. Members
  5. Further information
Objectives The Secretariat of the Pacific Community (SPC) is an international organisation that works to help Pacific people achieve their development goals by delivering technical, scientific, research, policy and training services. In addition to its work in agriculture, public health, applied geosciences, education, statistics, energy and transport, SPC also has a Division of Fisheries, Aquaculture and Marine Ecosystems (FAME), which provides scientific support for oceanic fisheries management, and technical assistance on the management and development of coastal fisheries and aquaculture. Area of competenceAll the Pacific Island countries and territories which, together with France, USA, New Zealand and Australia, comprise the Member States. These island countries and territories extend from the Northern Mariana Islands in the North West to Pitcairn Islands in the South East.
SPC area of competence - High seas, National waters
The boundaries and names shown and the designations used on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of FAO concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers and boundaries. Dashed lines on maps represent approximate border lines for which there may not yet be full agreement.
Species and stocks coverageAll fishery resources. Members

Member: American Samoa, Australia, Cook Islands, Fed.States of Micronesia, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Guam, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New Caledonia, Niue, Northern Mariana Is., Palau, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu, United States of America, Vanuatu, Wallis and Futuna Is..

Further information

Powered by FIGIS