faolexa database of national legislation and international agreements concerning food and agriculture (including fisheries, forestry and water) maintained by the FAO Legal Office
Agreement on the network of aquaculture centres in Asia and the Pacific.
Link to full text 
Countries: Australia; Bangladesh; Cambodia; China; Korea, Republic of; India; Malaysia; Myanmar; Nepal; Pakistan; Philippines; Sri Lanka; Thailand; Viet Nam; China
Territorial Subdivision: Hong Kong SAR
Date of Text: 08/01/1988
Entry into Force: The Agreement came into force on 11 January 1990.
Related Web Site: www.oceanlaw.net
Type of Text: Agreement
Abstract: The Contracting Parties hereby establish the Organization for the Network of Aquaculture Centres in Asia and the Pacific (NACA) which shall assist the Parties in their efforts to expand aquaculture development mainly for the purposes of: (a) increasing production; (b) improving rural income and employment; (c) diversifying farm production. Article 4 defines the different functions of the Organization, which shall for instance: (a) conduct disciplinary and multidisciplinary research of selected aquafarming systems for adaptation or improvement of technologies and for the development of new technologies; (b) set up a regional information system to provide appropriate information for development planning, research and training.
Main subjects: Fisheries