FAO Home>Fisheries & Aquaculture
FAO of the UN

Functional group 2: Baleen whales
Only one species is considered locally important, Bryde's whale (Balaenoptera edeni). The most commonly-sighted baleen whale, the humpback (Megaptera novaeangliae), is excluded because it does not feed during the time it resides in the Lesser Antilles.


Functional group 3: Deep-diving whales
Whales in this group include several species of sperm whales and beaked whales. Examples include:

Sperm whalePhyseter catodon
Gervais’ beaked whaleMesoplodon europaeus


Functional group 4: Killer whales
Three species of killer whales have been reported from the Lesser Antilles waters:

False Killer whalePseudorca crassidens
Killer whaleOrcinus orca
Pygmy killer whaleFeresa attenuata


Functional group 5: Shallow-diving small cetaceans
At least 10 species of small dolphins and porpoises are included in this group:

Shortfin pilot whaleGlobicephala macrorhynchus
Atlantic Spotted DolphinStenella frontalis
Bottlenose dolphinTursiops truncatus
Spinner dolphinStenella longirostris
Pantropical spotted dolphinStenella attenuata
Fraser's dolphinLagenodelphis hosei
Striped dolphinStenella coeruleoalba
Melon-headed whalePeponocephala electra
Clymene dolphinStenella clymene
Rough-tooth dolphin Steno bredanensis
Powered by FIGIS