European Union (EU)

The European Union (EU) comprises 15 member states: Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Denmark, Ireland, United Kingdom, Greece, Spain, Portugal, Austria, Finland and Sweden. It is preparing for the accession of 13 eastern and southern European countries. The EU is based on the rule of law and democracy, and is neither a new state replacing existing ones nor is it comparable to other international organisations. Its member states delegate sovereignty to common institutions representing the interests of the Union as a whole on questions of joint interest. All decisions and procedures are derived from the basic treaties ratified by the member states.

For more information, visit the Web site:

EU Standing Committee on Agricultural, Horticultural and Forestry Seeds and Plants

The EU has a range of legislation related to forest reproductive material:

  • Council Directive 66/404/EEC (14 June 1966) concerns marketing of forest reproductive material. There have been several Commission Decisions concerning authorization of Member States to permit temporarily the marketing of forest reproductive material not satisfying the requirements of this directive.
  • Council Directive 71/161/EEC (30 March 1971) concerns the external quality standards for forest reproductive material. There have been several amendments to this directive.
  • Council Directive 1999/105/EC (22 December 1999) on marketing of forest reproductive material.

This last Directive is mainly inspired by the OECD Scheme for the Certification of Forest Reproductive Material moving in International Trade (seeOrganizations - OECD), with which it is fully harmonised.

For information about the Committee visit the following Web site:
For more information on the directives, and amendments, start at the following Web site:
last updated:  Wednesday, April 18, 2007