Visit of the FAO-Italy delegation to the "3rd Chinese Poplar Festival", Siyang, Jiangsu Province, 28 - 30 May 2010


From 27 to 30 May 2010 a delegation from Italy composed by FAO Officers, the Chair of the International Poplar Commission, members of the National Poplar Commission of Italy and the Vice Major of the Municipality of Casale Monferrato, Italy, were hosted by the mayor of Siyang, in Jiangsu Province, Eastern China, to attend the 3rd Poplar Festival.

Highlights of the visit were the opening ceremony of the Poplar Festival that was attended by 100,000 people and broadcast by all Chinese TV channels; the unveiling of a sculpture dedicated to forestry in front of the Siyang Urban Exhibition Hall; the inauguration of a new industrial complex for forest industries; the visit to the Siyang Poplar Museum; and the Poplar Wood Industries and Agriculture Fair. Parallel to the Poplar festival IUFRO and Ecological Society of China organized an international conference on “Sustainable Management of Multi-purpose Poplar Plantations”.

Coinciding with the 3rd Poplar Festival Siyang, three ceremonies for the signing of three formal Memoranda of long standing cooperation with the Italian towns of Pavia, Casale Monferrato and with the Italian National Poplar Institute were also held.

The memoranda had different meaning. The memorandum signed with the town of Pavia was a symbol of mutual friendship and cooperation with an Italian county where poplar is widely used and sustainably managed. The memorandum signed with the town of Casale Monferrato meant to establish a long-term partnership and cooperation for exchanging people and culture between Siyang and the town that hosts the National Poplar Institute. The memorandum with the National Poplar Institute ensured cooperation in the scientific research on poplars.

The conclusion of these cooperation agreements was initiated and guided by the International Poplar Commission (, and the FAO-Italy cooperation project on poplar cultivation (GCP/INT/059/ITA).

 The members of the FAO-Italy delegation were:  

  1. Mr Jim Carle, FAO, Forestry Department;  
  2. Mr Stefano Bisoffi, Chair, International Poplar Commission (IPC);
  3. Mr Alberto Del Lungo, IPC-Secretariat, FAO, Forestry Department;
  4. Ms Lorenza Colletti, Secretary, National Poplar Commission, Italy;
  5. Mr Giuseppe Nervo, Director, Italian Poplar Institute;
  6. Mr Fabio Boccalari, Chair Italian Association, Poplar Growers;
  7. Mr. Augusto Pizzamiglio, Vice Mayor, Casale Monferrato, Italy;
  8. Ms. Laura Gallea, Officer, Municipality of Casale Monferrato;
  9. Prof. Giuseppe Scarascia Mugnozza, Head, Forestry Department, Research Council in Agriculture, Italy
last updated:  Friday, July 9, 2010