African Timber Organization (ATO) process

Since its inception in 1994, the African Timber Organization (ATO) has considered a priority to 'promote the implementation of sustainable forest management in ATO member countries'.

In accordance with recommendations made at the international level, 'especially by the Intergovernmental Panel on Forests' its 13 member countries identified five principles, two 'sub-principles,' 28 criteria and 60 indicators for sustainable forest management, for application at the regional, national and forest management unit levels.

Member countries

Angola, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Ghana, Liberia, Nigeria, Sao Tome et Principe and the United Republic of Tanzania.

More information

The Initiatives of the African Timber Organization Criteria and Indicators for Sustainable Forest Management.
ATO/ITTO principles, criteria and indicators for the sustainable management of African natural tropical forests


E. Sissy-Wilson; Technical Director, Forest Management Certification;
African Timber Organization (ATO);
BP 1077; Libreville; République du Gabon;
Tel.: 241-73-2928;
Fax: 241-73-4030.

Richard Eba’a Atyi
Project Coordinator
PD 124/01 Rev. 2 (M)
c/o African Timber Organization (ATO)
B.P. 1077 Libreville Gabon
Tel: (241) 44 58 99/07 52 92 54
Fax: (241) 44 54 60

Emile Mokoko Wongolo
Secretary General
African Timber Organization
A.T.O B.P 1077
Libreville / Gabon
Tel: 241-732928
Fax: 241-734033

Gregoire Nkeoua
Directeur des forêts
Ministère de l’economie forestière
BP 98 Brazzaville, Congo
Tel: 242-669448
Fax: 242-814136

Adje Ahimin Olivier
Sous-Directeur des Etudes et Recherche-Ecologie
SODEFOR 01 BP 3770
Abidjan 01, Cote d’Ívoire
Tel.: (225) 22 48 29 51
Fax: (225) 22 44 99 07
e-mail: or

Christophe Besacier
Conseiller régional forêt environnement Afrique Centrale

Other contacts list 

last updated:  Thursday, January 9, 2014