The Dry-Zone Africa Process on Criteria and Indicators for Sustainable Forest Management

The Dry-Zone Africa process stemmed from the UNEP/FAO Expert Meeting on Criteria and Indicators for Sustainable Forest Management held in Nairobi, Kenya in 1995. The 28 countries participating in the meeting identified seven national level criteria and 47 indicators.

The African Forestry and Wildlife Commission and the Secretariats of three sub regional groupings - the Permanent Interstate Committee for Drought Control in the Sahel (CILSS), the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC) - have endorsed the work of this process.

A number of national and regional workshops and expert meetings have been held to review the applicability of the criteria and indicators in countries concerned, to discuss the availability of information and national capacities for collection and analysis of data, and to elaborate a plan of action for implementation.

Two sub regional follow-up meetings of national coordinators have also been held, covering countries in SADC and CILSS countries. Following recommendations of the former, practical guidelines have been published in 2000.

Member countries

Angola, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Chad, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia,Gambia, Guinea Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger Senegal, Somalia, Sudan, South Africa, Swaziland, the United Republic of Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Plus d'informations

The Dry-Zone Africa Process.

Criteria and Indicators for Sustainable Forest Management in Dry-Zone Africa.


Francois Tapsoba;
Dry-Zone Africa Process/CILSS Countries;
Responsable du Programme Majeur
Gestion des ressources naturelles (CILSS);
03 BP 7049; Ouagadougou 03, Burkina Faso;
Fax: 226-374173;

Mr. Paulos Mwale;
Dry-Zone Africa Process/SADC Countries
Deputy Director of Forestry;
Ministry of Natural Resources and Environmental Affairs;
Forestry Department;
P. O. Box 30048;
Lilongwe 3, Malawi.
Tel.: 265-771-000,
Fax: 265-774-268;

Mr. Pape Sall;
Dry-Zone Africa Process/CILSS countries;
Directeur des Recherches Forestieres;
Dept des Eaux et Forêts, B. P. 2312;
Dakar, Senegal
Tel.: 221-8-323219, -8-321638;
Fax: 221-8-329617;

Abdoulie Danso
CILSS; Expert, Natural Resources Management
Programme Majeur Gestion Des Ressources Naturelles
Unité D’Appulaux Stratégies Et Politiques De Grn (UASP)
03 BP 7049 Ouagadougou 03, BP 7049
Burkina Faso
Tel.: 226-374125/26
Fax: 226-374173 or

Thembelani Ngamile
DD: Forestry Technical Services
Department of Water Affairs and Forestry
Private BagX 93
Pretoria 0001
Tel: +2712 3366728, Fax:+2712 3368847

Jeff Odera
Programme Coordinator
Elangata Wuas Ecosystem Management Programme
National Museums of Kenya
P. O. Box 40658
Nairobi, Kenya
Tel: +254-2 2375139
Fax: +254-2 23751819

Other contacts list 

last updated:  Thursday, January 9, 2014