The Pan-European Forest Process on Criteria and Indicators for Sustainable Forest Management

The Pan-European or Helsinki process focuses on the development of criteria and indicators for the sustainable management of European forests. The European process includes, in principle boreal, temperate and Mediterranean -type forests in 37 countries.

The process is overseen by Ministerial Conferences on the Protection of Forests in Europe. At the Third Ministerial Conference (1998), the six national level criteria identified within this process were officially adopted and the corresponding 27 indicators were endorsed . Ministers also endorsed the Pan-European Operational Level Guidelines for Sustainable Forest Management for further development and for use on a voluntary basis.

Member countries

Albania, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, European Community, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Andorra, Romania, Russian Federation, San Marino, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

More information

Ministerial Conference on the Protection of Forests in Europe website

Background on the Pan-European forests process or Helsinki process


Mr. Piotr Borkowski;
Head of the Liaison Unit Warsaw
of the Ministerial Conference on
the Protection of Forests in Europe
Ministry of the Environment, Department of Forestry;
52/54 Wawelska St.;
PL-00-922 Warsaw;
Tel: +48 22 5792581;
Fax: +48 22 5792 290;

Mr. Peter Mayer;
International Union of Forest Research Organizations (IUFRO);
Hauptstrasse 7; A-1140 Vienna-Hadersdorf;
Tel: +43 1 877 0151 12;
Fax: +43 1 877 0151 50;

Mr. Ewald Rametsteiner;
University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences (BOKU);
Feistmantelstrasse 4; A-1180 Vienna;
Tel: +43 1 47654 4418;
Fax: +43 1 47654 4407;

Mr. Kit Prins,
Chief Timber Section, UN Economic Commission for Europe;
Timber Section, Trade Division;
Palais des Nations,
CH-1211 Geneva 10, Switzerland;
Tel: +41 22 917 2874;
Fax: (41) (22) 917.0041;

Mr. Jouni Suoheimo;
Senior Adviser;
Chairman of the National Criteria and Indicators Working Group;
Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry,
P.O.Box 232, FIN-00172
Helsinki, Finland
Tel.: +358 9 160 88681;
Fax: +358 9 160 2400;

Ms. Conceição Ferreira;
Chief Co-ordinator;
Direction General of Forests (DGF);
Ministry of Agriculture, Rural Development and Fisheries;
Ave. Joao Crisóstomo No. 26-28; P-1069
Lisboa; Portugal;
Tel.: +351-(2)1-312-4910;
Fax: +351-(2)1-312-4996;

Markku Simula;
Managing Director, INDUFOR;
Toolonkatu 11 A, 00100 Helsinki, Finland;
Tel: 358-96840110;
Fax: 358-91352552;

Roman Michalak
MCPEE Liaison Unit Warsaw
Ministerial Conference on the Protection of Forests in Europe Ul. Bitwy Warszawskiej 1920 r. nr 3
00-973 Warsaw, Poland
Tel.: +48 22 33170 31
Fax: +48 22 33170 32

Bozena Kornatowska
Communication and Organisation
Ministerial Conference on the Protection
of Forests in Europe Liaison Unit Warsaw ul.
Bitwy Warszawskiej 1920 3 00-973
Warsaw, Poland
Tel./Fax: 48 22 331 70 31; 48 22 331 70 32

List of other contacts 

last updated:  Thursday, January 9, 2014