United Arab Emirates

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation of seven independent states located in the south-eastern corner of the Arabian Peninsula. It is bordered by the Persian Gulf to the north, Saudi Arabia to the south and west, and Oman and the Gulf of Oman to the east. Its area, including offshore islands, is 83 600 km2.

Most of the country is desert, with an elevated plateau sloping downward to a flat coastal plain with tidal salt flats. There are hills and mountains in the eastern part of the country.

Weather can be extreme during the summer months (May to October), with interior temperatures reaching 49° C. Coastal temperatures are slightly lower but the humidity is higher. Pleasant weather prevails during the rest of the year, with temperatures between 20° C and 35° C. Annual rainfall varies from as little as 43 mm in Abu Dhabi to 130 mm in Ra's al Khaymah, but varies greatly from year to year. Sandstorms are a frequent occurrence.

The designations employed and the presentation of material in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.

last updated:  Monday, May 28, 2012