Antigua and Barbuda

Antigua and Barbuda, part of the Leeward Islands, consists of three islands--Antigua, Barbuda, and Redonda (uninhabited). The islands lie about 692 km north of Venezuela. Antigua and Barbuda has a total land area of 442 km2 (Antigua, 280 km2; Barbuda, 161 km2 and Redonda, only 1.3 km2).

The islands of Antigua and Barbuda are mostly flat. They were formed from volcanoes that were worn down by wind and rain. Antigua´s coast has numerous bays and inlets. Redonda is rocky and has little plant life.

The climate is tropical, but the islands are subject to drought. The average temperature is 27° C. The islands receive about 1 100 mm of rain annually, but occasionally there are long periods of drought.

The designations employed and the presentation of material in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.

last updated:  Monday, May 28, 2012