The Republic of Belarus, located in east central Europe, is bordered by Russia on the east, Ukraine on the south, Poland on the west, and the Baltic republics of Latvia and Lithuania on the north-west. It has a total area of 207 595 km2.

The terrain is generally flat but disrupted by a series of highlands that run from north-east to south-west. It has four geographic regions: an area of lakes, hills, and forests in the north; an agricultural region with mixed-conifer forests in the west; a broad elevated plain in the east; and the Pripet Marshes, a vast forested swamp that extends into Ukraine, in the south. The country's highest point, at 346 m, is Mount Dzyarzhynskaya. The chief rivers are the Bug, the Neman (also called the Nyoman), the Western Dvina, and the Dnieper or Dnepr (also spelled Dnyapro). Belarus has over 10,000 lakes, mostly small ones.

Belarus has a temperate continental climate, with cold winters and warm summers. Average annual precipitation is between 500 and 700 mm, with the highest amount occurring in the central region. The temperature averages about -6° C in January, the coldest month, and about 18° C in July, the hottest. Extreme temperatures are sometimes experienced in the north, where frosts of below -40° C have been recorded.

The designations employed and the presentation of material in this publication do not imply the expression of any opinion whatsoever on the part of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations concerning the legal status of any country, territory, city or area or of its authorities, or concerning the delimitation of its frontiers or boundaries.

last updated:  Monday, May 28, 2012